embarrassment and ‘taste’

carys davies porcelain

plateWhen I put this black plate out (on the right, you may need to click ‘show images’ in some email programs), ready for Dulwich Festival (open again tomorrow, in case you’re nearby), I suddenly noticed something. A spelling mistake. I wrote ‘te’ instead of ‘the’.

The quote is from Edward Thomas:

Out in the dark over the snow
The fallow fawns invisible go
With the fallow doe;
And the winds blow
Fast as the stars are slow.


This is embarrassing. A design flaw, a technical fault, even bad execution, I can live with, sell off as a second. But this plate will never leave the studio, too embarrassing if someone thought I couldn’t spell the word the.

Embarrassment is often mixed up with taste. Taste, more than fashion, I think, although they are related. Like showing your bra strap – OK after Madonna. As part of my interest…

View original post 363 more words

Leave a Reply

